School Vacation Dates 2017/18

 “Le Temps mange la vie.”

The following are the recommended vacation dates for independent schools in New York City for the 2017/18 academic year, provided by the Guild of Independent Schools. Please note that these are simply suggested dates and not all schools follow the calendar exactly.

Labor Day: Monday, September 4

Opening Day: Thursday, September 7

Rosh Hashanah: Thursday, Friday, September 21, 22 (school closed) Note: some schools take 1 day; some 2 days and others no days.

Yom Kippur: Saturday, September 30

Columbus Day: Monday, October 9 (school closed)

Thanksgiving: Thursday, Friday, November 23, 24 (school closed)

Winter Vacation: Friday, December 22, classes end
Monday, January 8, classes resume

Martin L. King, Jr.: Monday, January 15 (school closed)

Feb/Spring Breaks: Option A: split weeks
Friday, February 16, classes end
Monday, February 26, classes resume
Friday, March 23, classes end
Tuesday, April 3, classes resume


Option B: 2 days in February and 2 weeks in Mar/April
Presidents Days: Monday, Tuesday February 19, 20 (school closed)
Spring Break: Option B:
Friday, March 16, classes end
Tuesday, April 3, classes resume

Passover: Saturday, Sunday, March 31, April 1

Good Friday: Friday, March 30

Easter: Sunday, April 1

Memorial Day: Monday, May 28 (school closed)

Closing day: Week of June 11

Become a Member

School Fair

Membership for Schools

If you represent an independent or private school click here to learn how to apply for School Membership, or call us at 212-737-7385. Annual membership dues are based on the total enrollment of the school.

Benefits
  • Annual School Fairs
  • Panel Presentations for Prospective Parents
  • Member School Directory and Publications
  • Online Member School Directory
  • Advisory Services
  • Grade Openings
  • Workshops and Forums
  • Spring Reception

More Information about Memberships for Schools

Family Membership

Take advantage of our many benefits including school admissions advice, events and publications.

Become a member now!

Benefits
  • School Advisory Appointments and Workshops
  • Lectures, Panels and Events on Parenting and Education
  • Parents League Publications
  • Online School Directory
  • Camp Advice and Information
  • Office Bulletin Board and Tutoring File

More Information about Family Memberships

Financial Aid Memberships available.

Admissions Events

Kindergarten Fair 2017
Venue:
Grace Church School
86 Fourth Avenue
between 10th & 11th Streets
New York, NY 10003
United States
When:
Monday, April 16, 2018
Time:
4:30am - 6:15pm
Members: Register here
Non-Members: Register here
Speaker:
Independent School Admissions Directors
Venue:
Grace Church
86 Fourth Avenue
between 10th & 11th Streets
New York, NY 10003
United States
When:
Monday, April 16, 2018
Time:
6:30pm - 7:45pm
Members: Register here
Non-Members: Register here