Update

Although our physical office is closed, we are pleased to be able to still fully connect with you online for advisory appointments, admissions workshops and events. And check our blog to register for a virtual admissions event at one of our member schools. Further details here

NYC School Vacation Dates 2020/21

Planning ahead? We are here to help you stay up to date with the NYC private and independent school calendar. The following are the recommended NYC school vacation dates for independent schools in the 2020/21 academic year, provided by the Guild of Independent Schools. Please note that these are simply suggested dates and not all schools follow the calendar exactly.

Labor Day: Monday, September 7

Opening Day: Thursday, September 10

Rosh Hashanah:  Saturday, Sunday, September 19, 20

Yom Kippur: Monday, September 28 (school closed)

Columbus Day: Monday, October 12 (school closed)

Thanksgiving: Thursday, November 26 and Friday, November 27 (school closed)

Winter Vacation:
Friday, December 18: classes end
Monday, January 4: 
classes resume

Martin L. King, Jr.: Monday, January 18 (school closed)

Feb/Spring Breaks: 
Option A: split weeks
Week 1:
Friday, February 12: classes end
Monday, February 22: classes resume
Week 2:
Wednesday, March 31: classes end
Monday, April 12:
classes resume
            
Option B: 2 days in February and 2 weeks in Mar/April
Presidents Days: Monday, February 15 and Tuesday, February 16 (school closed)
Spring Break:
Friday, March 19: classes end
Tuesday, April 6:
classes resume

Passover: Saturday, March 27 (Passover begins at sundown)

Good Friday: Friday, April 2

Easter: Sunday, April 4

Memorial Day: Monday, May 31 (school closed)

Closing day: Week of June 7

Looking for more information?

What_If_I_Missed_the_Universal_Pre-K_Deadline.jpg

What If I Missed the Universal Pre-K Registration Deadline?

what_age_to_start_preschool.jpg

What age to start preschool

Math Games Young ChildrenBWSM.jpg

7 Parent Resources for When Your Child is at Home